Event
JOIN OUR UPCOMING BOOK PRESENTATION DIALOGUE

JOIN OUR UPCOMING BOOK PRESENTATION DIALOGUE

image_pdfView the article in PDFimage_printPrint the article

Cities of Dignity— Urban Transformations Around the World 

To join Please register here: https://bit.ly/38S1lnJ

Global urbanization maintains mutual constituent relationships with the main patterns of domination in our societies, shaping their development. However, cities are sites of intense political disputes as urban populations have organized to meet the challenges of everyday life, resist dispossession, and defend their rights. What conditions and strategies enable radical transformation in urban contexts? What kind of economic and political processes can sustain radical urban transformations? In this book presentation and dialogue session, we will deal with these questions and more, as well as explore the tremendous transformative potential of cities through concrete cases from around the world.

Moderators:  Mabrouka M’barek (co-editor), Tunisia/USA and Miriam Lang, Ecuador

Languages: English and simultaneous translation to Spanish in zoom

Interventions:

Mary Ann Manahan and Maria Khristine Alvarez, Philippines: Urban transformations around the world

Asume Osuoka, Nigeria/Canada: Solidarity, struggles and visions of social change in the slums of Lagos 

Aseem Mishra and Sandeep Virmani, India: Building democracy from the bottom up in the City of Bhuj 

Bryce Detroit, USA: The role of art in the struggle of black communities against gentrification 

Commentator: Juliana Goes Morais, Brazil

Date & Time: Thursday, December 3, 2020 

8h30 AM Quito | 13h30 UTC | 14h30 Brussels | 19h00 New Delhi | 21h30 Manila

Organizers: 

Global Working
Group Beyond Development
Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung
Brussels Office
Global
Tapestry of Alternatives 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email